Drawing Vector Fields in MAPLE

In summary, the conversation is about drawing a vector field in MAPLE. The user is seeking guidance on how to draw a vector field using a specific vector, and another user provides a code for doing so. They also mention a helpful website for new users of MAPLE.
murshid_islam
i am new in using MAPLE. can anyone please tell me how i can draw a vector field in MAPLE? suppose i want to draw the vector field of [tex]\vec{A} = x\hat{i} + y\hat{j}[/tex]. or you can take any other vector you like to demostrate how i can draw it.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I don't think I really understand the question. In what sense do you want to draw the vector? For example, do you just want a graph, or do you actually want a picture of a vector?

sorry i meant the vector field. i have just edited my last post

Last edited:
For your vector field, it is done by the following command:

> with(linalg):
> F := (x,y) -> [x,y]:
> with(plots):
> fieldplot(F(x,y), x=-1..1, y=-1..1);

thanks a lot cristo. i just have one more question: to draw the vector field of [tex]x^2\hat{i}-y\hat{j}[/tex] i just have to replace the second line of your code with F := (x,y) -> [x^2, -y]:
am i right?

murshid_islam said:
thanks a lot cristo. i just have one more question: to draw the vector field of [tex]x^2\hat{i}-y\hat{j}[/tex] i just have to replace the second line of your code with F := (x,y) -> [x^2, -y]:
am i right?

Yes, that's correct.

thanks a lot.

hello there,
as a newby in maple, I found usefull this site:
www.mapleprimes.com
There are a lot of maple-nuts there who
know everything!

thanks a lot to you too.

Related to Drawing Vector Fields in MAPLE

1. How do I draw a vector field in MAPLE?