First time using CERN libraries - help

In summary: This comprises several files, the most important of which is lib/src/README.txt. There you will find descriptions of all the library's functions, together with examples of how to call them. In summary, you need to download the files from the CERNLIB website, and then integrate them into a FORTRAN program.
beamerxl
I am starting a new particle physics class that requires us to use the CERN program libraries (http://cernlib.web.cern.ch/cernlib/" ). I've been to the website and am quite lost. I don't know what files I need to get from the website, or how to implement them into a program. It's been about three years since I've used FORTRAN, and even then the class I took was very basic (we never covered anything about how to incorporate program libraries). It also seems to be implied that I will need a UNIX/Linux workstation to do this, which I could access through our physics department, though I have never used UNIX/Linux before either, so if it is possible to do this on my Vista64 or Mac, that would be preferred.

Our first assignment is some basic random number generation, though I'm sure we will be tackling harder problems as the semester goes on.

Can anyone with experience in FORTRAN, UNIX/Linux, or CERNLIB offer some help? Basically, my primary questions are:

• Can I do this in Vista64/Mac or do I need to get an account on our Linux machine?
  • If I need to use UNIX/Linux, what do I need to know to get started with a programming assignment?
  • What files do I need to download from the CERNLIB website, and what do I do with them?
  • How would I go about integrating these functions into a FORTRAN program?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

Last edited by a moderator:
Technology news on Phys.org