Generic Thread About College Stress Version 45634523.0

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of college stress and the pressure to attend prestigious schools for graduate studies. The speaker shares their personal struggles with their current academic performance and their future aspirations. They ask for advice on whether the difference in career prospects between attending a top school and a less prestigious one is worth the stress and lack of sleep. The conversation also shares insights on the importance of enjoying what one is studying and the idea that the type of person who is accepted to top schools will likely do well regardless of whether they attend or not. The conversation ends with the importance of finding a balance between work and rest, and the speaker's personal experience with dropping out of college but still being successful in their chosen field.
PrinceRhaegar
College Stress Help

Alright I'm just going to get right to it.

Right now I'm a freshman at BU studying physics, though I'm hoping to double major in math. And it has not been going very well. About a month ago I bombed my first set of midterms, but honestly I think I can attribute that to laziness on my part. I never really tried in high school, so I thought that I could put in roughly the same amount of work I did there and still get A's. Mostly I'd just go through the homeworks for the week, finish all of them in about 4 hours each, and then never think about that subject again for the rest of the week. After getting my first midterms back, I decided that that probably wasn't the best approach to studying. So I started studying each subject for about an hour and a half six days a week, and I honestly thought that I could feel that I was understanding the material a lot more this time. . . until I came back from my next computer science midterm. Suffice it to say, not good. This first semester isn't looking very good, considering that it'll definitely bring down my GPA and th