Getting Started with Matlab: Summing 2n from 0 to n

• MATLAB
  • Thread starter phillyj
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Matlab
In summary, Matlab is a programming language and numerical computing environment used in scientific and engineering fields for data analysis, visualization, and algorithm development. To sum 2n from 0 to n in Matlab, the "sum" function can be used with a vector of numbers. This calculation is commonly used for practice and to familiarize oneself with Matlab syntax. Alternative methods include using a "for" loop or the "cumsum" function. While Matlab may seem daunting to beginners, there are many resources available to help with learning.
phillyj
Hi, I'm new to matlab.

I'm trying to sum a function similar to 2n from 0 to n where n is specified as a digit and not a list. I am using the sum() function but I don't really know how to get it to work right for this.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Code:
S=0;
n = 10;
for k=0:n;
S = S + 2^k;
end

Or
Code:
ind = 0:1:n;
S = sum(2.^ind);

Thanks but I got it. I needed a one-line code like this:

Code:
n = 25
sum(2.^(0:n))

Related to Getting Started with Matlab: Summing 2n from 0 to n

1. What is Matlab?

Matlab is a programming language and numerical computing environment commonly used in scientific and engineering fields. It allows for data analysis, visualization, and algorithm development.

2. How do I sum 2n from 0 to n in Matlab?

To sum 2n from 0 to n in Matlab, you can use the "sum" function and specify the sequence of numbers to be summed as a vector. For example, the command "sum(0:2:10)" would result in the sum of 0, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10, which is 30.

3. What is the purpose of summing 2n from 0 to n?

The purpose of this calculation is to find the sum of all even numbers from 0 to n. It is a common mathematical problem that can be used to practice coding and familiarize oneself with the syntax of Matlab.

4. Are there any alternative methods to sum 2n from 0 to n in Matlab?