Grabbing info from an .ndk file and making a .kml file

• Thread starter jadeco
  • Start date
  • Tags
    File
In summary: File);In summary, to create a .kml file, you need to use information from an .ndk file. However, there are a few mistakes in the provided code, such as not defining the variable numLinesInBlock and using incorrect parameters in the kmlwrite function. The correct code should include formatting the input correctly and using the fclose command to close the file.
jadeco
So I have to make a .kml file, but I'm grabbing some info (latitude, longitude) from an .ndk file. I'm not quite sure how to do this. Right now I have this (sorry it sucks, I'm a total noob)

inputFilename = 'M:\week2\may11.ndk';
inputFile = fopen(inputFilename);

while (feof(inputFile) == 0)
% Read input file in blocks of 5
for i = 1:numLinesInBlock
% Read line from input file
currentLine = fgetl(inputFile);

% If we have the first line, then process it
if (i == 1)
% Extract the information we need
lat = strtrim( currentLine(28:33) );
lon = strtrim( currentLine(35:41) );

elseif (i == 2)
CMT_ID = strtrim( currentLine(1:16) );

end
end
end

filename = 'M:\week2\week2.kml';
kmlwrite(filename, lat, lon, 'Name,' CMT_ID);

And it's wrong in so many ways

Physics news on Phys.org