Hello Art student interested in science

• Thread starter Isopod
  • Start date
In summary, the main branches of science are biology, chemistry, physics, earth science, and astronomy, with each focusing on different aspects of the natural world. Art and science can intersect through the use of scientific concepts in art and the use of art to communicate scientific findings. Common misconceptions about science include the idea that it is a fixed body of knowledge, only for "geniuses," and always objective and unbiased. Incorporating creativity into scientific work can involve exploring new ideas and collaborating with non-scientists. Some career options for individuals interested in both art and science include scientific illustration, medical animation, science communication, museum curation, and research on the intersection of art and science.
Isopod
How did you find PF?
Google search
Hi,

I'm an Fine Art student at university but I have also always been interested in science. Sometimes, I combine science & art together in my artistic practice and in my next upcoming project, I'm working on creating a robot arm sculpture and doing some ecosphere experiments. I thought it would be good to start getting more in the way of science advice (especially for my ecosphere ideas), so here I am.

Nice to meet you all and looking forward to learning from you ^_^ !

Isopod~

Likes berkeman and PeroK
Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome.
Nice name.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2022-03-25 at 7.52.52 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-03-25 at 7.52.52 PM.png
    87.5 KB · Views: 8
Hi BillTre, nice to meet you! I like the fish fry in your avatar, is it a Zebra Fish fry?

Close, it's a fry of a zebrafish relative, Danio assamensis.
Screen Shot 2022-03-25 at 8.01.44 PM.png

Very similar just a bit larger at this age.

BillTre said:
Close, it's a fry of a zebrafish relative, Danio assamensis.

Ah-ha, I thought it looked familiar.