How Can Visual Learners Master PDEs and Fourier Transforms?

• Thread starter Illuminerdi
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Basics Pde
In summary, the individual is an electrical engineering student with a desire to learn how to solve PDEs and Fourier series/transforms. They have learning disabilities and have found success in visual learning. They prefer videos and learning directly from people rather than textbooks. They are seeking alternative sources to learn from and are interested in sources such as the MIT lectures on electromagnetism and the book "Visual Complex Analysis" by Needham. They struggle with reading math and are looking for someone to show them how to understand it. They are open to receiving help and are interested in learning about different types of PDEs and solving methods.
Illuminerdi
Hi, I'm an undergrad in EE who wants to learn the basics of solving PDEs (and Fourier series/transforms), but who has some learning disabilities (developmental, most notably).

Before I get criticism for what I'm about to say (which will be asking for an alternative to the obligatory "read this textbook" response), I'll give some background:

In high school, I was a mediocre math student. After being out of school for a considerable length of time, I had some strange neurological experience that wouldn't make sense to many I were to describe it to (a seizure, perhaps? hallucination without substances?) and decided I wanted to focus on mathematics, again. I watched all of the calc series on single and multivariable calculus from MIT's playlist and resumed school as an engineering student, having received straight As since. However, the real strategy to how I learned differently was visualization. I never relied on textbooks, never did anything merely procedurally without questioning, and could not rely on anything that did not make physical sense, nor could I do well on any concept (equations, formulas, etc.) unless I could understand it enough to derive it on my own.