How important is probability and mathematical statistics?

In summary, statistics is an important subject that is used in a variety of fields,particularly in observational cosmology.
kakarotyjn
I'm a sophomore in math.I intend to learn mathematical and physics something like differential geometry,topology and QFT in my next years and do some research in some relative topics.I know I need to learn many courses and I feel I don't have enough time.This semester we open a course called probability and mathematical statistics.I know it's a basic course for students in math but I want to know How important is probability and mathematical statistics?

Does it play an important role in some mathematical physics fields,like superstring,gauge theory or complex geometry?Do you use it often in your research?

How deep should I learn it you think?I'm really don't interested in it and don't have time.

Thanks for your advise.

Physics news on Phys.org
kakarotyjn said:
I'm a sophomore in math.I intend to learn mathematical and physics something like differential geometry,topology and QFT in my next years and do some research in some relative topics.I know I need to learn many courses and I feel I don't have enough time.This semester we open a course called probability and mathematical statistics.I know it's a basic course for students in math but I want to know How important is probability and mathematical statistics?

Does it play an important role in some mathematical physics fields,like superstring,gauge theory or complex geometry?Do you use it often in your research?

How deep should I learn it you think?I'm really don't interested in it and don't have time.

Thanks for your advise.

Aside from the obvious roles like statistician and actuary, statistics is important when considering information theory and stochastic calculus. Information theory is used in electrical/telecommunications/computer engineering and if your that way inclined it is vital to know and understand.