How to Really Understand Physics - An Undergrad's Perspective

In summary, the conversation discusses the challenges and frustrations of studying physics and the desire to truly understand the subject. The speaker mentions being able to do calculations and solve problems, but still struggling with understanding concepts such as the Hamiltonian and the least action principle. They also mention that some teachers are better at teaching these concepts than others. Overall, the conversation highlights the continuous learning process of physics and the satisfaction that comes with understanding a difficult concept.
sol66
Well, I'm an undergrad majoring in physics and I'm going to finish pretty much all of the upper division classes by next year. All I can say is from what I've learned, it doesn't seem like very much.

I'm just wondering, of all the physicists, grad students, and Phd's the likes ... how many people actually really understand what the hell is going on? Sure velocity is equal to omega cross your r vector ... you I can find eigenvectors of some operator. I can even do a little bit of band theory for solid state.

But there is yet still so much, even the stuff that I should have learned that is so foggy to me. I can easily do all the calculations and find the values and such, but things like why the Hamiltonian works for describing a quantum particle or even the least action principle describing the trajectory of motion is so obscure to me.

The proofs for most of these rules can be wicked long, and you forget what you were trying to prove in the first place by the time you are done ... I'm usually left with the feeling like, you that makes sense and all but eh ... I don't feel to good about it still.

The type of understanding that I want is the feeling you get when you think about the really easy things in physics such as velocity or rate change.