Is NCSU within my reach? And other "safety schools"

In summary, the individual is an industrial engineering student from India with a strong background in physics and mathematics. They are applying for the 2015 academic year and have selected a mix of ambitious and moderate schools for their list. They are also considering adding more universities from another list and want to know if they need to apply separately for different departments within a university. The expert suggests considering more schools from the "other list" and checking the specific requirements for international students, and clarifies that when applying to a university, the application is usually considered for all departments within that university.
santo35
Hey guys,

i am an industrial engineering student from India studying in one of the top 5 colleges down here (NIT only next to IIT's). I am applying for 2015. and i have selected few schools as of now. I just wanted to make sure is the list i have is "okay"

My profile as of now -
1 Journal articles in physics (general relativity)
4 Projects in physics (2 summer and 2 winter projects) (general relativity and Quantum mechanics)
1 Statistical Math Project
1 project to mathematically model product life cycle (used physics model for solving industrial engineering problems)
1 conference (this summer)
1 Lecture course by Prof michael berry (this summer)
1 Summer school in advance quantum mechanics IMSc (institute of mathematical sciences)

Over all GPA now in indian system = 7.2/10
GRE 315
PGRE yet to take.

Selected schools -
Ambitious - CMU, Zurich
Moderate- NSCU , SCSU, Waterloo

Other list - SUNNY buffalo, Univ of pittsburgh,Univ of Tennessee, Knoxville ,Univ of Kansas , michigan state , SUNNY stony broke, Univ of torento

I want to select couple of more univs from the "other list" that i would have a shot on.

please do tell me if these selection are over ambitious or okay-ish or too low for my profile.