Looking at the universe through matlab?

In summary, the person is a 3rd year physics student struggling to plot galaxies on a chart. They have the coordinates and colors of each galaxy, but are having trouble creating a visual representation. They are looking for guidance on using Matplotlib or Seaborn to plot the data.
gurps409
Im currently a 3rd year physics student and in struggling a little on trying to plot galaxies on a chart. the simple plot funtion will just give you dots or circles. I am trying to get it to look like a picture of the sky at night.

the information i have is the coordinates of each galaxy and the colour that galaxy.

the only thing i can think of is using meshgrid and the trying to relate the "heat" to the colours but i keep getting errors.

can anyone point me to the right direction...

Thanks

Gurps :)

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Gurps,

Have you tried looking into Matplotlib or Seaborn? These libraries can help you create the plots you need and allow you to customize them with colors. You may need to convert your coordinates into a format that is readable by these libraries. This website (https://matplotlib.org/tutorials/introductory/usage.html#sphx-glr-tutorials-introductory-usage-py) provides an example of how to plot data on a chart. Hopefully this helps get you started in the right direction! Best of luck!

Related to Looking at the universe through matlab?

1. What is Matlab and how is it used to study the universe?

Matlab is a programming language and software environment used for data analysis, visualization, and mathematical computations. It is commonly used by scientists to analyze large datasets and create simulations of astronomical phenomena.

2. Can Matlab be used to study all aspects of the universe?