Materials or Solid State Course?

In summary, a fourth year undergraduate in physics is considering graduate study in materials science and is unsure which course to take. The materials course provides a broad overview of the subject, while the solid state course is more advanced and closely follows a specific textbook. The individual is wondering which course would be more beneficial for future studies and admissions into materials science programs. The suggestion is to take the solid state physics course and self-study the materials course.
showzen
Hi everyone,

I am a fourth year undergrad in physics. I am strongly considering graduate study in materials science, and I am wondering which course might have more impact both on my future studies and on admissions.
The materials course seems like a broad overview of the subject, going over structure, bonding, and related properties.
The solid state course is offered by the physics department, and seems like it will follow the text by Kittel closely.

Basically, I don't know if I should take an introductory course to materials, or take a more advanced solid state physics course, particularly in light of materials science admissions.

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Personally, I think it is quite easy to learn the stuff from a materials course in self study while you can easily get lost in soldi state physics. So I would go for the solid state physics class and read the script of the materials class as a good night story.

Related to Materials or Solid State Course?

1. What is the importance of studying materials or solid state?

Materials or solid state is a fundamental course in the field of science and engineering. It provides a deep understanding of the structure, properties, and behavior of materials, which are essential for developing new technologies and improving existing ones. It also allows scientists to design and engineer materials with specific properties for various applications.