MATLAB Help for expansion of cos(x) using a Taylor Series

In summary, the code is trying to find the Taylor series expansion for cos(x), but is not doing so correctly because the loop is not being executed correctly.
Tuttle917
I was hoping somebody would be able to help me as I am pretty new to Matlab. I am trying to create a for-loop to describe the taylor series expansion of cos(x)= (-1)^n*x^2n/(2n)! and to see how it converges towards cos(x). Below is the code that I have used to plot the different orders of n, but I was wondering if there was a way to make this work for any value of n?

n=0;
for x = -6:0.25:6
n=n+1;
y(n)=x;
F(n)=cos(x);
F0(n)=1;
F2(n)=1-0.5*x^2;
F4(n)=1-0.5*x^2+(1/24)*x^4;
end
plot(y,F,y,F0,y,F2,y,F4)
axis([-6 6 -1.5 1.5])

I have tried

n=0;
for x=(-2:.25:2)
n=n+1;
Y(n)=x;
F(n)=cos(x);
G(n)=1+(-1)^n*x^(2*n)/prod(1:2*n);
end
plot(y,G)

but the plot for G does not come close to cos(x) as the values of n are not constant and the plot goes to zero. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
The solution is to make a function that will take in as arguments n and x and will return the approximated cosine.

Tuttle917 said:
G(n)=1+(-1)^n*x^(2*n)/prod(1:2*n);
This is not correct, as it is the sum of the 0th term and the nth term. There should be a loop in order to sum over n.

Also, MATLAB has a factorial function, so factorial(2*n) should be used instead of prod(1:2*n).

MATLAB CODE FOR CALCULATION TAYLOR SERIES a*cos(bx)^2

clear all
clc

a=input('enter an a value ');
b=input('enter an b value ');
x1=input('enter an x1 value ');
x2=input('enter an x2 value ');
f(x1)=a*cos(b*x1)^2;
f1(x1)=-2*a*b*cos(b*x1)*sin(b*x1); %diff(f(x1))
f2(x1)=2*a*b^2*sin(b*x1)^2 - 2*a*b^2*cos(b*x1)^2; %diff(f1(x1))
f3(x1)=8*a*b^3*cos(b*x1)*sin(b*x1);%diff(f2(x1))

y=f(x1)+f1(x1)*(x2-x1)+(f2(x1)*(x2-x1)^2)+(f3(x1)*(x2-x1)^3)/6 f(x2)=a*cos(b*x2)^2;
f1(x2)=-2*a*b*cos(b*x2)*sin(b*x2); %diff(f(x2))