Proving well ordering principle from Peano Axioms

• Thread starter issacnewton
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Proof
issacnewton
Homework Statement
Let ## G \subseteq \mathbb{N} ## be a non empty set. Then there is some ## m \in G ## such that ## m \leq g ## for all ## g \in G##
Relevant Equations
Peano Axioms where lowest element is taken to be 1.
I am trying to understand the proof given in Ethan Bloch's book "The real numbers and real analysis". I am posting snapshot of the proof in the book.

proof.png

I am also posting theorem 1.2.9 given in the book.

theorem.png

Here author is trying proof by contradiction. First, I don't understand why specific choice of the set ##H## was done. Is there any hint in the statement of the theorem 1.2.10 that this set needs to be considered. Next, the author is using contradiction at 3 different places in the proof. Though I am following what he says, but is this usual in math proofs to use contradiction at several places ? When I studied the method of proof by contradiction, there is only one contradiction at the end. So, this was new way to do proofs to me. Finally, when author states at the end that ##H = \mathbb{N}##, how does theorem's statement follow ?

Physics news on Phys.org
issacnewton said:
Here author is trying proof by contradiction. First, I don't understand why specific choice of the set ##H## was done.
##H \subseteq \mathbb{N}## is the set of all possible lower limits for the set ##G##. For a proof by contradiction, it was assumed that ##H \cap G = \phi##.
issacnewton said:
Is there any hint in the statement of the theorem 1.2.10 that this set needs to be considered.
Yes. The theorem implies that ##H \cap G \ne \phi##.
issacnewton said:
Next, the author is using contradiction at 3 different places in the proof. Though I am following what he says, but is this usual in math proofs to use contradiction at several places ?