Relative orientation of two vectors

In summary, the conversation discusses methods for determining if two objects are facing each other on a 2D plane and calculating a parameter to measure the extent to which they are facing each other. The suggested solutions include using the inner product, cosine function, and distance method. The conversation also suggests defining the concept of "facing" more precisely to find a more suitable solution.
xonxt
Hello. I'm sorry if this is a really trivial question, but I'm not that good with vector arithmetics, so I have to ask.

Let's say I have two objects on a 2D plane, that face some direction. I have (x,y) coordinates of each object, and I have an angle each object is facing. The relative coordinates are not important to me, what I need to find out, is if the objects are facing each other, and to compute some parameter X which, for lack of better terms, tells me how "much" are they facing each other. A relative angle, if you wish.
Here's an illustration of what I need, approximately:
1373921244-new-canvas-83kb.png

Does a thing like that exist, or do I need to invent it? :D

Mathematics news on Phys.org
The inner product should be what you're looking for.

Given two vectors ##\mathbf{v}## and ##\mathbf{w}## (both emanating from the origin). Then you have

[tex]\cos(\alpha) = \frac{\mathbf{v}\cdot \mathbf{w}}{\|\mathbf{v}\|\|\mathbf{w}\|}[/tex]

For example, given ##\mathbf{v} = (1,2,3)## and ##\mathbf{w} = (5,1,2)##, then

[tex]\mathbf{v}\cdot \mathbf{w} = 1\cdot 5 + 2\cdot 1 + 3\cdot 2 = 13[/tex]

Thus

[tex]\cos(\alpha) = \frac{13}{\sqrt{14}\sqrt{30}}[/tex]

For more information, see "Introduction to Linear Algebra" by Serge Lang.

The example you show is confusing. For all your cases the vectors are in opposite direction.

mathman said:
The example you show is confusing. For all your cases the vectors are in opposite direction.