Resume for a summer internship

In summary, the intern's experience is limited, but he has a lot of skills that could be useful for a resume. He accepted the internship through a program that he wasn't aware of the requirements, so he is looking for advice on how to present himself.
mateomy
Hi all,

I'm not sure if this should be here or in 'Academic Guidance' but I'm sure the mods will make that call.

Anyway, I accepted a summer internship at JPL/NASA this summer and just received an email that had me complete some registration steps. One of the steps wants me to upload a resume, which I don't have currently so I'm sort of confused on how to start.
As an undergrad my experience is super limited save for a part time job. How does someone with such little to say in terms of 'experience', go and write a resume?

Any pointers would be appreciated, thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
You can include non-work related things, such as academic (prizes, scholarships, etc.) and non-academic (sport, arts etc.) achievements , or your involvement in any clubs (university, sport, etc.), especially if you held a position of leadership or contributed in some way. Perhaps if there are any particular projects in which you led a group of people at university, you could also mention then. And even though your actual work experience may be limited to a part time job, it is worth writing a bit about it anyway; it is better than having a blank space under "employment history". It could also be worth having a small section on personal interests, just to add some character to your resume. I know some people think it is pointless (and maybe in some circumstances it is), but I know that my small list of personal interests has sparked some interesting discussion (often because of a common interest with the interviewer) in a few interviews I've had, which can only be a good thing I think.