Simple circuit to drive a small/medium conveyor belt for 5 seconds

In summary, to design a simple circuit that drives a DC motor on a pulley drive of a conveyor belt, you can use a 555 timer IC in monostable mode. This will require the use of a transistor and resistors/capacitors, which can be determined using a calculator. It is important to check the datasheet for the components and consider purchasing from a reliable supplier such as Digikey. Alternatively, you can purchase the necessary components from a local electronic parts or hobby store.
maxi9
I am a hobbyist, and I am not too familiar on to how to run motors. Can someone help me design a simple circuit that drives a dc motor on pulley drive of a conveyor belt. The conveyor belt has to stay on for 5 seconds after a switch is turned on. The belt is about 48 inches long, the radius of the pulley is 1 inch. I have calculated the power at the pulley to be 2.6 Watts.

Thank you in advance,
Regards,
Maxi9

Engineering news on Phys.org
The simplest and cheapest way would be to use a 555 timer IC in monostable mode.

http://www.kpsec.freeuk.com/555timer.htm (summary of how they work)
http://www.csgnetwork.com/ne555timer1calc.html (calculator to determine what resistors/capacitors to use)

You may need to use a transistor to run the motor, depending on your voltage, you may exceed the maximum amps of the IC. I buy my components at www.digikey.com, always been happy with their selection and fast shipping. Just be sure to look at the datasheet for the component, you might find that you don't need a transistor (probably only the case if you're a bit over 12V though)If you need something right away, most electronic parts/hobby stores would stock something that would work for you. If you only buy the timer, a transistor, the resistors/capacitors and a perf board (to solder the components to), shipping might cost more than buying them locally.

Related to Simple circuit to drive a small/medium conveyor belt for 5 seconds