Solving MATLAB Questions: Quick Answer to Formatting Output

• MATLAB
  • Thread starter TheloniousMONK
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Matlab
In summary: You can use the '%.3fj' format to display imaginary output with j instead of i. This will first convert the real part to a string using '%.3f', then concatenate it with the imaginary part, which is converted to a string using '%.3fj'. This will result in a string with the format 'a+bi', where a and b are the real and imaginary parts respectively.
TheloniousMONK
I am pretty new to MATLAB and am having a problem formatting my output. I have two questions:

1. How do I display the sign of a number in front of it similar to showpos in C++? For example, if a = 72, I want to display '+72', but if a = -72, I do not want to display '+-72'.

2. Is there a way to make it make imaginary output use j instead of i without doing something like:

num2str( real(Comp1) , '%.3f' ) + num2str( imag(Comp1) , '%.3fj' )

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
TheloniousMONK said:
I am pretty new to MATLAB and am having a problem formatting my output. I have two questions:

1. How do I display the sign of a number in front of it similar to showpos in C++? For example, if a = 72, I want to display '+72', but if a = -72, I do not want to display '+-72'.

2. Is there a way to make it make imaginary output use j instead of i without doing something like:

num2str( real(Comp1) , '%.3f' ) + num2str( imag(Comp1) , '%.3fj' )

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
To display the sign you may use the + flag in the format. For instance:
fprintf(fid,'%+g',a), will print +72 if a=72 and -72 if a=-72.
fid is the file identifier. It is 1 for the screen.

1. To display the sign of a number in front of it, you can use the fprintf function in MATLAB. For example, if you have a variable a that contains your number, you can use the following code to display it with the sign in front:

fprintf('%+d', a)