Using BJT in Practice: A Beginner's Guide

• Thread starter etf
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Bjt
In summary: That's because the current gain of a transistor is determined by the voltage gain of the bipolar junction transistor, not by the current gain of the transistor itself.If you want to increase current gain, increase the input current.
etf
Warning: Template missing in homework help request.
Hi!
I studied BJT in theory for some time and now I want to use it in practice. What are limitations of BJT in real life? What should I know in order to properly use it (I mean without damaging it) ?

Physics news on Phys.org
That's an extraordinarily broad question and has no specific answer.

Design a specific circuit using either a PNP or an NPN transistor and THEN worry about finding a transistor that will work properly in that circuit without damage.

Likes etf
One of the most important things is to stabilize the selected operation point (Ic) against tolerances and, in particular, against temperature effects, which can destroy the BJT.
For this purpose, it is absolulety necessary to provide negative DC feedback - in most cases simply with an emitter resistor Re.

Likes etf
Be wary of transients conditions that can occur from your source, your load, or functions of your circuit. Make sure you understand the transients your part can withstand without being destroyed.

Likes etf
My main advice is to design circuits where beta is not an important parameter so long as it's not too small. If you look at analyses of typical bjt-resident integrated circuits this is almost always assumed.

Likes etf
rude man said:
My main advice is to design circuits where beta is not an important parameter so long as it's not too small. If you look at analyses of typical bjt-resident integrated circuits this is almost always assumed.