Using labview to control a kent scientific genie plus syringe pump

In summary, the conversation is about finding a way to control the syringe pump in a lab, specifically the flow rate, from a computer. The pump can connect to the computer using a rs-232 port and the suggested program to use is labview. The person seeking help has never used labview before and is open to alternative recommendations. They also provide their contact information for further assistance.
tunk
i need to find a way to control the syringe pump in my lab so that i can control the flow rate in real time from the computer, ideally from a simple dial i scale up or down. the pump can connect to the computer using a rs-232 port and someone suggested to me that labview would be the easiest program to do this with. I have never used labview before and have no idea what i am doing. any help would be appreciated or if u know of an easier way to create the program i need by all means recommend it. thanks.

Technology news on Phys.org
Please email me and I will provide you with a reference that may be of assistance to you.

Thank you,
David Miller
Kent Scientific Corporation
dmiller@kentscientific.com

Using LabVIEW to control a Kent Scientific Genie Plus syringe pump is a great idea! LabVIEW is a powerful and user-friendly programming language that is commonly used in scientific and engineering research labs. It offers a variety of features that make it ideal for controlling instruments and collecting data in real time.

To control the flow rate of the syringe pump from the computer, you can use the RS-232 port to establish communication between the pump and the computer. LabVIEW has built-in functions and tools for serial communication, making it easy to send commands to the pump and receive data back.