Advice Needed on Career in Physics & Astrophysics

• Thread starter Calluuuum
  • Start date
In summary: Oxford is a great place to study physics. It's one of the few universities in the world that has a dedicated department for theoretical physics. You'll have the opportunity to do research and to meet other physicists who are interested in the same things as you are.I really enjoy Physics, I love everything about it. I'm 110% certain I want to go into Physics career-wise. My favourite part of Physics of course is Astrophysics. I'm an English student currently, but bare with me here. (Just clarification here, I mean student based in England, not studying English) (:Currently I'm taking 4 A Levels,
Calluuuum
Okay, so I really enjoy Physics. I love everything about it. I'm 110% certain I want to go into Physics career-wise. My favourite part of Physics of course is Astrophysics. I'm an English student currently, but bare with me here. (Just clarification here, I mean student based in England, not studying English) (:

Currently I'm taking 4 A Levels, Physics, Maths, Further Maths and Chemistry. I'm currently sitting on a conditional offer at Oxford university to do a Physics 4 year MPhys course. (From this point on it's all assumptions on if I get in.) Alongside the MPhys I'm going to be doing a 3 year Mathematics in Physics BSc. After University I'm planning on going to America to complete up to a Ph.D in Astrophysics. The main thing I need advice on is what should I be looking at in America for this Ph.D? (I'm not sure about the American Education system) Also, where should I go from getting a Ph.D? Is there anything I should be looking to learn beforehand to help me in the future?

Just as a side note, I'm very into theoretical Astrophysics and research. I'm not too good at experimental Physics, at least in a career view. I love working with numbers and problems, I find it much more relaxing to solve an equation or puzzle than, say, reading.