Get Funding for PhD at NCSU - Advice on Asking Profs

In summary, the person got an admit to a PhD program in math but did not get any funding, so they need to find an RA position.
bloometal
So I got an admit at NCSU for PHD math finally. In fact, it was the only school I got an admit from. Unfortunately, (Yep you guessed it!) I did not land myself any sort of funding. They seemingly decide upon Teaching Assistantships once in a year, and that's that!
So, my only option on getting my tuition paid is getting myself an RA. Do you think that is possible now that the decision for no funding is already made?
How do I go about asking the Profs? Should I be open about it or do I tell them I'm just interested in learning more before I get there and then once I get there, I ask them about RA?

Thanks a ton for any sort of advice!

Physics news on Phys.org
Usually RA-ships are more competitive than TA-ships. You can ask, but I wouldn't make any plans assuming that this would happen.

bloometal said:
So I got an admit at NCSU for PHD math finally. In fact, it was the only school I got an admit from. Unfortunately, (Yep you guessed it!) I did not land myself any sort of funding. They seemingly decide upon Teaching Assistantships once in a year, and that's that!
So, my only option on getting my tuition paid is getting myself an RA. Do you think that is possible now that the decision for no funding is already made?
How do I go about asking the Profs? Should I be open about it or do I tell them I'm just interested in learning more before I get there and then once I get there, I ask them about RA?

Thanks a ton for any sort of advice!

TA'ship at most schools are often given out each year. There's no "long term" contract here, so this is not unusual. Unless you really suck as a TA, I don't see this as being a problem for you to continue your graduate program being a TA.