Need ideas for school aero project please

In summary, a group of masters students from the University of Cape Town in South Africa are looking for project ideas to encourage disadvantaged school pupils in the townships to become interested in science and engineering, specifically in aeronautics. They are seeking suggestions for a one-day event where they can teach the students theory and have them build and test something related to aeronautics, with adjustable parameters and involvement of mathematics. Some ideas suggested include dropping different shaped objects in a water tank to demonstrate density and drag, building elastic powered planes and using simple paper aeroplane designs to show the effects of rudders and flaps. Model water bottle rockets are also recommended as a fun and interactive way to learn about projectile motion and aerodynamics.
Chris Day
i'm a masters student at the university of cape town in south africa. we are trying to encourage disadvantaged school pupils in the townships (grade 11 & 12) to become intersted in science and engineering. since we ourselves are involved in aeronautics we are looking for related project ideas where we can spend a day with the kids, teach them some theory and let them build and test something.

i've seen plenty of parachuting eggs, but not much else. does anyone have any ideas of perhaps some kind of vehicle they can build where there are adjustable parameters (flaps, centre of gravity, ...). i'd think this sort of thing has been done before by people more ingenious than us. ideally there would be some mathematics involved where they would predict and then test, explaining inaccuracies in their predictions. or something.

any input, suggestions, etc would be greatly appreciated. thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
1st year of college (aero engr) we got r/c airplanes and flew them over a known distance to find speed and using weight found the CL