Help deriving this Bessel function formula

In summary, the conversation discusses the integral representation of Bessel functions and how to obtain the equation \pi j^m J_m(z)=\int_0^{\pi} \cos(m\theta)e^{+jz\cos\theta}d\theta from the initial equation J_m(z)=\frac{1}{2\pi}\int_0^{2\pi}e^{j(z\sin\theta-m\theta)} d\theta through various steps, including using the orthogonality of sine and cosine functions and converting the integral from 0 to 2\pi to 0 to \pi.
yungman
I am studying Bessel Function in my antenna theory book, it said:
[tex]\pi j^n J_n(z)=\int_0^{\pi} \cos(n\phi)e^{+jz\cos\phi}d\phi[/tex]I understand:
[tex]J_m(z)=\frac{1}{2\pi}\int_0^{2\pi}e^{j(z\sin\phi-m\theta)} d\theta[/tex]
Can you show me how do I get to
[tex]\pi j^m J_m(z)=\int_0^{\pi} \cos(m\theta)e^{+jz\cos\theta}d\theta[/tex]

I tried ##e^{jm\theta}=\cos m\theta +j\sin m \theta## but it is not easy. Please help.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Anyone please?

I since worked out a few steps: Let ##u=\frac{\pi}{2}-\theta##
[tex]\Rightarrow\;J_m(z)=\frac{1}{2\pi}\int_0^{2\pi}e^{j(z\sin\theta-m\theta)} d\theta= \frac{1}{2\pi}\int_0^{2\pi} e^{j(z\cos u-m\frac{\pi}{2}+mu)} du=\frac{1}{2\pi}\int_0^{2\pi}e^{j(z\cos u+mu)}e^{-j(m\frac{\pi}{2})} \;du [/tex]
[tex]J_m(z)=\frac{e^{-(jm\frac{\pi}{2})}}{2\pi}\int_0^{2\pi}e^{jz\cos u}[\cos(m\theta)+j\sin(m\theta)]d\theta[/tex]
[tex]e^{-j(\frac{m\pi}{2})}=\cos\frac{m\pi}{2}-j\sin\frac{m\pi}{2}[/tex]

For m=odd, ##\;\cos\frac{m\pi}{2}=0## and ##\;-j\sin\frac{m\pi}{2}=j^{-m}##

For m=even, ##\;j\sin\frac{m\pi}{2}=0##

For m=0 ##\Rightarrow\;\cos\frac{m\pi}{2}=1,\;\;## m=2 ##\Rightarrow\;\cos\frac{m\pi}{2}=-1,\;\;## m=4 ##\Rightarrow\;\cos\frac{m\pi}{2}=-1,\;\;##...Therefore ##\Rightarrow\;\cos\frac{m\pi}{2}=j^m=j^{-m};##

[tex]J_m(z)=\frac{j^{-m}}{2\pi}\int_0^{2\pi}e^{jz\cos u}\cos(m\theta)d\theta+ \frac{j^{-m}}{2\pi}\int_0^{2\pi}e^{jz\cos u}j\sin(m\theta)d\theta[/tex]

Now the final step is to get rid of the second term. Please help.

Thanks