New Scientist Magazine for High School Seniors

• Thread starter DR13
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Scientist
In summary, New Scientist is a good magazine for high school students, but you may want to look for a more specialized magazine if you are interested in engineering or math.
DR13
@admin: Sorry if this is supposed to be in some other forum. If this is in the wrong forum, feel free to move it

I want to get a science magazine that centers around math, physics, and engineering. After looking on a few websites "New Scientist" seems interesting. Does anyone have an opinion on this? Or, is there a better magazine out there?
For some background info: I am a high school senior so I want to make sure that I am not getting anything too technical where it goes over my head (ie you need a physics degree to even understand the article).

Physics news on Phys.org
New Scientist is pretty good as far as scientific journalism goes. I'm an engineer and tend to read more engineering based magazines, but as far as keeping abreast of new scientific 'stuff' I've found NS to be quite acessible.

If you are enjoy one particular area of science, then a more dedicated magazine may suit your needs better.

what kind of engineering stuff do u read (or would that stuff go over my head)?

I find New Scientist very often over-sensationalizes things, and it's quite annoying.

nicksauce said:
I find New Scientist very often over-sensationalizes things, and it's quite annoying.

Then what would you recommend?

SciAm, or Discover.

DR13 said:
For some background info: I am a high school senior so I want to make sure that I am not getting anything too technical where it goes over my head (ie you need a physics degree to even understand the article).
New Scientist is aimed at your level.
As somebody said it can be a bit journalistic-sensationalist but its generally reputable (ie. most university tea rooms will have copies.