PLL with adjustable constant phase shift

In summary, The speaker was able to successfully design a PLL circuit that maintained a constant phase shift over its entire lock range and achieved good performance. They also created a LabVIEW VI to calculate and plot the response of the components in the circuit, and used it to arrive at a configuration that provided 45° phase margin. They also discussed their understanding of Zero Voltage Switching and their confusion over the various proposed designs for it.
Greg-ulate
I had been wondering if this were possible for a long time. While working on my MS thesis at school, I learned about Phase Locked Loops for the first time. It took me weeks of curling up at night with H.&H. The Art of Electronics for me to even get the concept. I had never heard of a Bode plot, Poles, Zeros, Phase margin, or Laplace Transform before. Later on, while I was an intern, I used a Lead-Lag filter recommended my the manufacturer of an IC to stabilize its operation and in the process I learned that Lead-Lag compensation is ideal for stabilizing an amplifier with feedback.

I saw this great tutorial on the PF https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=367280 on an induction heater and that's when it came together. In his tutorial, imsmoother writes a lot about the PLL theory, which helped me in my understanding. He configured his PLL so that it locks to the resonant frequency of his work coil + tank capacitor + work piece combination at about a 90° phase shift since he is measuring the voltage across the tank cap which adds -90° phase shift. He states that driving the transformer with this correct phase and frequency allows for Zero Voltage Switching of his transistors, increasing his efficiency. The power is varied by a variac on the mains, which is rectified to supply the Mosfet Half-Bridge that drives the transformer primary.