Car battery -- charging questions

In summary: A, but again, that is not what is needed most of the time. A car's electrical system can usually handle much more than that.
Akmalidin
Hello,

I am a Telecommunications student who does not have a lot clue about cars.Does a car charges up its battery when it moves? What power supply is used for lighting in car, the battery? So if car charges the battery when it moves, why sometimes external/additional charging of battery is vital ?

Likes johnnyrev
Engineering news on Phys.org
The engine in the car spins the alternator. The alternator produces DC energy to charge the battery, and to power lights, radios and so on.

If for some reason the battery can't start the engine, then external energy must be supplied.

Likes johnnyrev and berkeman
I appreciate your answer. How many alternators are in the car? 4? or 2?

Likes johnnyrev
Akmalidin said:
I appreciate your answer. How many alternators are in the car? 4? or 2?

Usually one. Do you have a car nearby? You can open the hood, see the engine and the alternator.

Likes johnnyrev
Unfortunately, I don't have a car nearby.But how much power does it output so a battery charges?What about its speed ?

A typical alternator can make 50 amps at 14 volts. That's a lot.

A voltage regulator controls the alternator so the speed doesn't matter much.

Here is a picture of a car engine. The alternator is the part spun by the rubber belt.

FQ8FSGTFOVXOSBT.MEDIUM.jpg

Likes johnnyrev
Akmalidin said:
So if car charges the battery when it moves, why sometimes external/additional charging of battery is vital ?

the car doesn't need to be moving ... the engine only has to be running

Akmalidin said:
I don't have a car nearby. But how much power does it output so a battery charges? What about its speed ?

around 14V at a few amps. The alternator rotor spinning speed is around that of the engine revs so as the engine revs faster so does the alternator