Fabry Perot interferometer used as a filter

In summary, the Fabry Perot interferometer can be thought of as a sampling device operating on the incident light wave, with the peaks and valleys in its interference pattern representing the allowed and blocked frequencies. This is similar to the sampling theorem in signal processing.
DiracRules
Hi all!

I'm studying Fabry Perot optical interferometer (with monochromatic light without taking time into account so far) and as its first application we studied it can be used as a filter, letting pass only certain frequencies
[itex]\nu= \frac{mc}{2n_fd\cos(\theta_t)},\,\,m\in\mathcal{N}[/itex] where c is speed of light, [itex]n_f[/itex] is the refractive index of the dielectric, d is its width and [itex]\theta_t[/itex] is the transmission angle.

That said, I was wondering: since the plot of [itex](\nu,T_tot)[/itex] - Ttot being the total transmittance - reminds me the frequency spectrum of the sampling of a sinusoidal wave, can the interferometer be thought as a sampling device operating on the light wave?

I mean, since Fourier's transformation of the sampling of a sinusoidal wave is the repetition of Fourier's transformation of the wave, I thought that we can think backward: since we see the repetition of peaks, it can be the spectrum of the sampling (in time's domain) of the sinusoidal light wave.

I am wondering if it is craziness or if there is something not so foolish in my observation.
DR

Physics news on Phys.org
. SCIENTIST: Hello! Your observation is quite interesting and not at all foolish. In fact, what you have described is a common principle in signal processing known as the sampling theorem. This theorem states that if a continuous signal is sampled at a rate higher than twice its highest frequency component, then the original signal can be accurately reconstructed from the samples.