Learn Topology: Resources for Beginners

• Thread starter dalcde
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Topology
In summary, to learn topology, you should start with Complex Analysis, and then take topology classes that use real analysis.
dalcde
I want to learn topology but I can't find any good resources (except for thoughtspacezero on youtube, which got a bit difficult to understand after a few videos). Can you suggest some materials?

Thanks in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
I mean free resources or books you can find in normal public libraries (I don't have direct access to college or university libraries).

Thanks again!

I studied topology on my own last summer by reading Topology by Munkres and doing all of the assignments on this page (including all of the problems that were not required):

http://people.math.gatech.edu/~etnyre/class/4431Fall09/index.html

I asked a professor for help whenever I got stuck for too long. It worked out great for me - I took a graduate level course that used Lee's Introduction to Smooth Manifolds the following semester and got an A. So, that is my anecdote on teaching oneself topology.

In my opinion, basic topology should be learned through Complex Analysis..This approach supplies a context for topological ideas showing how they arise naturally from problems of understanding holomorphic functions. The ideas generalize easily to algebraic topology, differential topology, and the topology of metric spaces.

http://www.math.uiowa.edu/~jsimon/COURSES/M132Fall07/?C=M;O=A

Hi, I am a newbie in topology :D
I wanted to know if there are 2 homeomorphic manifold, can we make sure its diffeomorphic?
If there are 2 homeomorphic manifold but it isn't diffeomorphic, Can you give me some example??...
I am really sorry if my English is bad, I am Vietnamese :D

alice chen said:
Hi, I am a newbie in topology :D
I wanted to know if there are 2 homeomorphic manifold, can we make sure its diffeomorphic?