Mechanics of materials question, angle of twist in shaft

In summary: HanssonIn summary, the value of 15 kNm/m at point A is not the torque at A but the change in torque per unit length of the shaft from that point. The total torque applied would be the integral of the function t(x) from x = 0 to x = 0.6 m, so T = (1/2)*(25 x^2) kNm.
davidhansson
Hello, I'm studying machanics of materials.. I'm at the chapter that handles the angle of twist in shafts. There's one exercise that I get the most part of, but there's just a tiny part of it that I don't get!

here's the exercise: http://davidhansson.deviantart.com/art/Wp-20131015-001-407472489

and here's the solution from the book: http://davidhansson.deviantart.com/art/Wp-20131015-005-407472644

what I don't get, is what internal torque really means and how it become (1/2)*25x*x ,,
Where does the "(1/2)" comes from, and where does the extra x comes from..

My intuition is that it should be integrated like: 1/((pi/2)*75*10^9) ∫(15000/0.6)*x integration from 0 to 0.6 ,, which would be the twist in radians for the part AB.

I apologies if it's hard to understand

lot's of thanks/ David Hansson

Physics news on Phys.org
It's tricky to explain, but I'll have a go.

The value of 15 kNm/m at point A is not the torque at A but the change in torque per unit length of the shaft from that point. Since the torque is zero at B, the slope of the torque distribution = 15 kNm/m divided by 0.6 m = 25 kNm /m^2. To calculate the value of the distributed torque at at distance x from point B, then

t(x) = 25 kNm/m^2 * x m = (25 x) kNm/m

The total torque applied would be the integral of the function t(x) from x = 0 to x = 0.6 m, so

T = (1/2)*(25 x^2) kNm

It's a weird way to express the torque distribution and I can understand your confusion.

Hello, lots of thanks for the reply!