Wave Propagation in a Coil Spring

In summary, the speaker is studying vibrations in a coil spring and is seeking confirmation on the correctness of their derivation. They have found that for small oscillations, the spring can be described by the 1-D wave equation with a wave speed of k*l^2/m, where k is the spring constant, l is the spring length, and m is the spring mass. The speaker asks if this sounds familiar to anyone and notes that based on the dimensions, the wave speed should be the square root of the given value.
BrianMechEng
I am studying the vibrations in a coil spring, and want to confirm with others that my derivation is correct.

I found that for small oscillations the spring is described by the 1-D wave equation, with wave speed k*l^2/m. where k is the spring constant, l is the spring length, and m is the spring mass. Does this sound familiar to anyone?

Physics news on Phys.org
BrianMechEng said:
I am studying the vibrations in a coil spring, and want to confirm with others that my derivation is correct.

I found that for small oscillations the spring is described by the 1-D wave equation, with wave speed k*l^2/m. where k is the spring constant, l is the spring length, and m is the spring mass. Does this sound familiar to anyone?
Just looking at the dimensions, it should be square root of that.

Related to Wave Propagation in a Coil Spring

1. What is wave propagation in a coil spring?

Wave propagation in a coil spring refers to the movement of waves through a physical medium, in this case, a coil spring. When one end of the spring is displaced, it creates a disturbance that travels through the spring as a wave.

2. How does a wave propagate through a coil spring?