A solution for the P v NP problem

• Thread starter gravenewworld
  • Start date
In summary: The proof is correct as far as it goes. What this paper does is to show that for some functions there exists a function such that P=NP. But this function is not the Tardos function.In summary, this paper shows that there exists a function that makes P=NP, but the function is not the Tardos function.
gravenewworld
What can the experts decipher on this:

https://arxiv.org/pdf/1708.03486.pdf

Is this going to win a million dollars?

EDIT: The punchline is P =/= NP

Last edited:
Technology news on Phys.org
I'm not an expert, but from what I heard, the author is a credible researcher and the paper seems to look good. We'll see if someone finds a flaw.

If it is true, then it will be a sensation and I wonder, why the usual pop-science shout-boxes haven't reacted yet. Also interesting would be, whether Blum will also refuse to grab the million, as Perelman did. What looks promising is the way itself:
Berg and Ulfberg and Amano and Maruoka .. have used ... to prove exponential lower bound ...
and
We [Blum] show that these approximators can be used to prove the same lower bound for ...
This is the way science works: A great result from one author(s), because non-trivial lower bounds are really hard to prove, and another one generalizes the result. And as with Poincaré, the result ##P \neq NP## is simply a corollary.

fresh_42 said:
If it is true, then it will be a sensation and I wonder, why the usual pop-science shout-boxes haven't reacted yet.

It's probably not as sensational as P=NP :-)

Cheers

https://arxiv.org/abs/1708.03486

Thoughts, PF? I know very little about the subject—in fact, the abstract makes my eyes bug out: