Adding/Subtracting arrays in F77

• Thread starter PCSL
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Arrays
In summary: So you'll have to do something like this:result = int(x(1,3),kind=integer_type) + int(x(4,4),kind=integer_type)where you have to substitute correct value for "integer_type" in the above. And similarly for real numbers...Or do you want to find the average value of the two numbers represented by the strings? In that case, you would first convert the strings to numbers, as above, and then compute the average.
PCSL
Hey, I'm new to fortran and I don't know how to add arrays. I opened a data file and assigned a different array to each number but if I type something like x(2)+x(3) it will not yield a result. This is probably a stupid question but thanks for any help you can offer.

Technology news on Phys.org
Please post your code. Can't help without seeing what the code is doing...can't take your word for it...sorry.

I just have a very simple code as follows:

Code:
        program test
        integer i,j
        character*14 x(10,7)
        open (unit=3, file='dstest')
        open (unit=8, file='dstestnew.data')
        read (3,*) ((x(i,j), i=1,10), j=1,7)
cccc [operation]
        close(unit=3)
        close(unit=8)
        end

My question is can i add specific arrays i.e. x(1,3)+x(4,4) or can you only use an array to perform operations on x(i,j). I have the dstestnew.data file open so I can write whatever I calculate to that file if that wasn't obvious.. thanks!

Last edited:
Short answer: Yes, you can do x(1,3)+x(4,4)

Long answer: You say that you are trying to see what operations you can do...why waste your time? How about you do a little bit of reading on fortran arrays? And find out for sure what it is that you can and cannot do? Please do not attempt to learn to program cluelessly by trial an error; sure, when something is not too clear, you can try variations of what they seem to be saying until you get it right and understand it.

gsal said: