Advice for a wannabe mathematician

In summary, it sounds like you have a lot of potential and are definitely on the right track. Just keep at it and don't worry about what others think of you.
RBTiger
For the past 2 years, I've wanted to become a mathematician, but I've become overawed by the sheer number of prodigies that have made it large in the subject...Gauss, Riemann, Ramunajan etc. I'm no prodigy and I'm in my last year of school(my age is 16)...I've always had been proficient at maths, deriving quite a few geometrical formulae without help, proving L'Hopital's Rule through Lagrange's mean value theorem(I later learned the intermediate step is Cauchy's mean value theorem) etc. However my grades before my 10th year weren't reflective of that(I used to average A- but now it's improved to A+)...Lately I've been studying a lot of college mathematics like Spivak, Courant, Artin, Herstein, Strang, Hardy& Wright etc. But I'm not sure whether I'll ever make it big...Many of the leading mathematicians of the day seem to be IMO medallists, but I learned about the IMO a few months back! Although I've signed up for the IMO qualification exam, I'm worried that if I don't do well, it may mean I'm a bad mathematician...Any advice??

Physics news on Phys.org
RBTiger said:
Many of the leading mathematicians of the day seem to be IMO medallists, but I learned about the IMO a few months back! Although I've signed up for the IMO qualification exam, I'm worried that if I don't do well, it may mean I'm a bad mathematician...Any advice??

Your success on the qualification exam is no way to measure your potential as a mathematician. I suggest you work hard. There is no one-way ticket to become a top mathematician.

And quite frankly, you don't need to be a world-class mathematician to actually do mathematics. You can always aim for the best, but try to follow your passion regardless of your "status" as a future mathematician.

Good luck.

RBTiger said: