Advice for Someone Considering Double Majoring

• Programs
  • Thread starter LithaNova
  • Start date
In summary, the main advantage to double majoring is that you are qualified to attend graduate school in either subject. The main disadvantage is that you have less freedom for concentration.
LithaNova
Hello everyone, this is the first post I've made on here spite being a member for a while now. I'm currently attending a local college, and while my major is Computer Science I've obtained a major interest in Physics(prior to last spring's semester). As of this semester I'm taking General Physics I(Calculus-based), and I'm enjoying it a lot. For awhile now I've been wondering if I should double major in Physics and Computer Science. The work it's going to take before I transfer to a four-year(+) university is virtually the same. Only about a 3-4 course difference.
My professor's look at me dumb-founded when I tell them I'm taking the Calculus-based physics course(While being a Computer Science Major) out of sheer interest.

Physics could, and will benefit me while programming my video games. I'm already starting to implement some of the basic motion mechanics into my programs. It's very rewarding seeing and feeling my two interest being able to come together like this. The only issue that I can foresee is the extra workload I'll be taking on once I get into the four-year plus university. As of this moment I only plan on getting my BA/BS when it comes to Computer Science, but if I were to continue this path and take Physics as well, I'd definitely want to go the full distance in obtaining my PhD in Physics. I realize I'm talking as if it's a walk in the park, but I know it's not.