Air burst testing with concrete (scaled down)

In summary, the speaker is an apprentice at structural engineering and is designing a concrete barrier to withstand explosions, ballistics, and heavy impact. They are unsure if their lab's blast device, which has a maximum pressure of 120 psi, will be strong enough to test the scaled-down model of their barrier. They are looking for ideas and help from others with knowledge on the subject. They plan to build a scaled-down model that is 10-20 cm in height and no more than 3 cm in thickness.
Uncivil
Hi guys, litterely just signed up today and am liking the site.
Ill cut to the chase.

I am designing a concrete barrier to resist explosions, ballistics and heavy impact. Now while I am still an apprentice at structural engineering, My knowledge in mechanics and general physics isn't amazing, although I enjoy both subjects. Heres the problem.

At my lab, the closest I can get to recreating a blast is using a device that can blast air out at 120 psi.
now the structures I am going to be building and testing are going to be scaled down by 10.

is 120 psi going to be enough to test until failure? Concrete can take a compressive force of a few thousand psi, but when it comes to a sudden impact or blast, this dramatically drops.

But because of the scale, I'm not really sure how this works or how I should compensate. any ideas? any help or ideas from anyone with knowledge on the subject would be great. thanks in advance.

ps the scaled down model I wlil be building will lie approx 10-20 cm in height with a thickness of no more then 3 cm. I'm still only at the beginning of research and design, so I'm just looking into feasibility.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Sounds like you might have to build a pneumatic cannon. Maybe with an intensifyer.

Related to Air burst testing with concrete (scaled down)

What is air burst testing with concrete?