Air Pressure between two air tanks

In summary, the main tanks may have less pressure than the starter tank due to the one way check valve. The check valve has a spring with some force and the pressure in the main tanks may be higher than the pressure in the starter tank due to the need to overcome that force.
System1459
So I am a heavy vehicle mechanic. One of my vehicles has an air starter with a separate air tank dedicated to the starter. This tank is fed from the main air tanks on the truck with a check valve to only allow air into the starter tank. The gauge on the dash only displays the pressure in the main tanks for the truck. We frequently notice the starter tank will have more or less pressure than the main tanks.

I understand why the starter tank sometimes has more pressure than the main tank due to the one way check valve.
I assume the check valve has something o do with why the starter tank might have less air than the main tanks.
The check valve is a 3/4" and has a spring with probably not more than a couple of lbs.
The starter tank is considerably larger than the main tanks, it that matters.
My question is, why will the starter tank have less pressure than the main tanks?

Engineering news on Phys.org
How much less pressure in the starter tank? (edit - And for how long?)

The check valve works as you describe, air into starter tank when main is > starter. No flow the opposite direction.

But as you notice, the spring has some force. That force must be overcome by the pressure in the main tank. So the starter tank could have less pressure than the main due to the need to overcome that spring. But that maybe just a few pounds?

Other than that, a sticky check valve? The starter tank being drained faster than it can be filled by the main tank?

+1

I would expect the pressure to be lower in the starter tank due to the small loss in the valve.