Algebraic Geometry Basics for Understanding Tensegrity in Masters Thesis

• MHB
  • Thread starter caffeinemachine
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Geometry
In summary, algebraic geometry is a branch of mathematics that studies geometric objects defined by algebraic equations. It involves techniques such as polynomial equations, curves, surfaces, and higher-dimensional spaces, and is used to analyze the relationships between these objects. Understanding the basics of algebraic geometry can help in comprehending the concept of tensegrity, which is a structural system that uses a combination of compression and tension to create stable structures. This can be helpful in the context of a Masters Thesis that explores the use of tensegrity in various applications.
caffeinemachine
Gold Member
MHB
Hello MHB.

My masters thesis is on the subject of tensegreties (Most likely you don't know what that means.) Their study requires familiarity with Algebraic Geometry. I have no background in AG.

I need to understand this paper:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B77QF0wgZJZ7d2g2S3g1RVlQOE0/edit

Proposition 3.2 in the paper uses concept of an 'algebraic set', 'path selection results from AG' and 'curve selection result due to Milnor'.

At this point I have no idea what these are.

I have good understanding of UG algebra (esp groups and fields & Galois theory), Analysis and Point-set Topology.

Can somebody tell me what book(s) and topics I should cover so that I'd be in a position to understand the the paper at least partially?

I am allowed to do 3 months of reading bookish material and then go to reading papers.

Physics news on Phys.org
caffeinemachine said:
Hello MHB.

My masters thesis is on the subject of tensegreties (Most likely you don't know what that means.) Their study requires familiarity with Algebraic Geometry. I have no background in AG.

I need to understand this paper:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B77QF0wgZJZ7d2g2S3g1RVlQOE0/edit