Another Mythbusters experiment

• Thread starter XTTX
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Experiment
In summary, a car can turn 90 degrees if a grappling hook is shot out at a structure at the corner of a turn. The car is already caught in the circular motion, and the tension in the cable is going to be high. It's unlikely that the signpost will survive.
XTTX
I'm just a high school physics student, and this is my first physics class. Anyways, I was watching Mythbusters a few days ago and saw the myth that a car could turn 90 degrees @ high speeds if a grappling hook was shot out at a structure at the corner of a turn (see diagram below). I've never dealt with centripetal forces before and was just wondering how you would create a force diagram for an object with centripetal forces.
http://img111.imageshack.us/img111/4167/carscenarioks7.jpg
Here's my take on it, but I'm just blindly guessing here:
http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/7481/cardiagrasmk3.jpg
Note that the car is already caught in the circular motion when position 2 is drawn. Also, forgive my messy handwriting and drawings :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
well i think you got the fpr and f on the car by engine wrong cause when the car is turned the engine of the car gives the force along the direction where the car is pointing (provided the wheels of the cars are not turned) and also the friction on th motion ofthe car depends on the direction the car is moving so since the car is is turning the direction of friction force also changes... also i would like to point out that the f nx will be caused because of the change of momentum of tha car as it turns... hope this helps :shy:

XTTX,
Besides the the centripetal force question, there is the very great possibility that a human in that car will not survive the fairly high da/dt at the tangent point of the curve. Likely, cervical injury or "brain spin" would be fatal, depending on the speed and radius of curvature.

Using the equation :