Ansys Workbench Help (creating load in center of body)

In summary, it is recommended to split the solid model into parts and select a vertex where the force can be applied. Another option is to create a multi-body part in DesignModeler to avoid surface contact conditions. To do this, the solid model can be split in Solidworks before importing into Workbench, or in DesignModeler after import. If DesignModeler is not available, the force can be applied to a node using named selection after meshing.
The0wn4g3
I'm just learning how to use Ansys Workbench 13 to analyze static structures. I need to analyze the deformation of a simply supported beam with a concentrated force in the center vertically downward. I have a 3D model of this beam created in Solidworks.

How do I create a force in the center of the beam?

Engineering news on Phys.org
You need to split the solid model into parts such that there will be a vertex (and therefore a mesh node) where you want the force. Then simply select the vertex using your selection filter and apply the force to the point.

If you want to avoid contact conditions, also consider creating a multi-body part in DesignModeler using the appropriate commands. This will create a solid which is split into sub-solids for the purposes of meshing and force application, but does not require contact conditions for a solution.

Thanks for your help!

I need to avoid surface contact, so the two bodies function as one part and one mesh. Sorry if the follow questions seem mundane, but I'm having a hell of a time finding good Workbench tutorials.

1. When I open a new project, double-click "structural analysis", what is the proper step to proceed? Since my model is already created in SolidWorks, I am currently performing: right-click on "geometry" -> "import" -> "cantilever beam.SLDPRT". Is this correct?