Any VBA / Excel gurus present?

• Thread starter juzbe
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Excel
In summary, the person is new to Visual Basic and has 500 Excel worksheets with data and graphs. They need to change the line color in the graph based on the numerical value of each data point and are looking for a way to do this automatically using a macro. However, since the data row plotted against the top row varies from sheet to sheet, it is difficult to determine which row to look at when deciding the color. The suggestion is to reorganize the data and use the macro recorder, but the issue with using a macro for graphs is that the VBA code will have to be changed for each graph due to the different data locations.
juzbe
I'm fairly new to Visual Basic, so the answer to this might be really simple...

So here's the deal:

I have something like 500 Excel worksheets, that each contain the following:

1. 2-N equally long rows of data
2. A Line graph of one of rows 2-N versus the top row

What I need to do is change the line color in the graph, according to the numerical value of each data point. Needless to say, since there are hundreds of these graphs, I'd like to be able to write a macro that will do this for me.

My problem is, the data row that is plotted against the top row varies from sheet to sheet, which means I don't know which row to look at when deciding the color. Is there any way to obtain this information from the Chart object?

Any help would really be appreciated, I'm starting to think I could've done this manually in the time it's taken me to write the macro :)

Thanks in advance!

Technology news on Phys.org