Applying to Cambridge DAMTP or Part III Math?

In summary, the individual is considering applying to Cambridge for a PhD in theoretical physics. They have a strong academic background and have been involved in research in hep-ph. They are interested in the research at Cavendish but also considering applying directly to DAMTP or the Part III Math program. Their main concern is funding for their studies. They are seeking information on funding options and all replies are appreciated.
Stan Marsh
I am now considering applying to Cambridge for a PhD in theoretical physics.

My background is basically: rank 5% in one of the top 3 universities in China (it seems it's hard for Chinese student to get a phd in theoretical physics?), above average GRE and TOEFL scores, and have been doing research in hep-ph for about 1.5 years (learn lots of QFT), with a publication in preparation.

I find that lots of professors' research at Cavendish match mine quite well. But I want to do something more "theoretical", so I am thinking of applying to Cambridge DAMTP directly or to Part III Math.

One thing concerns me most is that is it really hard for one to be admitted by DAMTP without taking part iii math? If so, I can apply to the part iii math program. But will it be hard for one to get enough scholarship? If I get admitted but can not find any scholarship, I still can't go.

I am sorry that this post seems to be too long. But I am really in need of some information to help me to make the decision. All replies are appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
I was wondering about this too. I'm not familiar with the UK education system, but I was under the impression that students had to pay for masters degrees out of pocket, and usually masters degrees were required before Ph.D. How can people find sources of funding for a masters degree in the UK?

Try this:

http://www.britishcouncil.org/china-education-scholarships-chevening.htm

Last edited by a moderator:
mal4mac said:
Try this: