Are axioms/postulates always so self-evident that they don't need any proofs

• Thread starter jackson6612
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Proofs
In summary: They are used to define the properties and relationships between mathematical objects, rather than to dictate how they should operate.
jackson6612
Hi

I'm a math layman so please be simple and straightforward. Thanks.

Are axioms/postulates in any field always so self-evident that they don't need any proofs? I could say '1+1=2' is an axiom, am I allowed to say this, or are there some requirements for an axiom to qualify as one? Could an axiom be a nonsensical truth? I suppose it could be. It depends on who is interpreting it and level of their knowledge. There is an axiom in theory of relativity that light always travels at the same speed no matter what. Well, for me it just flies over the head because I'm dumb in these things. Could you please help me with the queries on the axioms/postulates? Thanks a lot.

PS: I'm not really sure if it's really a math related stuff, if it isn't then please move it to the appropriate section. Thanks.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Axioms never need proofs. Google the term.

All it is, is a logical starting point.

'Axiom' is really a term of mathematics not physics. You quoted something in relativity, which is physics.

However parts of physics may be so well established, or such useful models that they can be treated pretty much as pure mathematics and developed as formal axiomatic system. As in mathematics they don't even have to be true for that, though if they are not true enough to be useful they will not be popular. I am not a physicist, but I think some physicists go for that, more regard it with wry detachment, but we will soon hear.