Arguments in favour of the fair sampling assumption

• Thread starter gespex
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Sampling
In summary, the conversation discusses the existence of completely classical hidden variable theorems that match the coincidence rates predicted by quantum mechanics. The theories contain a "no enhancement assumption" and it is argued that this assumption should be true. A paper is mentioned that seems to correspond with the predictions of quantum mechanics, but it is noted that the theory is not local and is experimentally falsifiable. The article is published in Physics Letters A and the author is known for performing experiments to close loopholes in entanglement experiments.
gespex
Hi all,

I'm no expert in quantum mechanics by any means, but I've been quite interested in, and done quite some research on, Bell's theorem and related inequalities such as CH and CHSH. The theories all look perfectly sound, except that they all contain the "no enhancement assumption", some even in the form of an even stronger "fair sampling assumption".
Now it seems quite doable to formulate a theory that contains regular, classical hidden variables that match CH and CHSH in all correlations (ie. coincidence rate between detected photons with polarizes either set at specific angles or removed). Simply by assuming there exist hidden variables that determines the chance the particle is detected, it seems possible to match these coincidence rates that Quantum Mechanics also predicts.

I have two questions regarding this:
1. Do such hidden variable theorems exist, that are completely classical and match the coincidence rates as predicted by QM?
2. Regardless of whether such a theorem exists, why is this "no enhancement assumption" assumed to be true? What are the arguments in favour of it?

Thanks in advance,
Gespex

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't like bumping - but isn't this a fair question? I've found a paper that seems to correspond with the QM predictions here: