Azimuthal direction vector notation

In summary: So the angle is 90 degrees).In summary, the conversation was about the use of vector notation, specifically square bracket notation, in ion scattering spectroscopy experiments. The group discusses the meaning of notations like [11-2] or [1-10] and how they relate to degrees. They also mention the use of azimuthal angles in these experiments and how they are measured from a specific direction. The conversation ends with one member thanking another for their knowledge and the clarification of the notation.
cdjemba
Hello everyone!

I am trying to do a literature search about ion scattering spectroscopy experiments. But I am not good at the vector notation which is used in these articles. I mean the notations with square brackets like [11-2] or [1-10] etc. (-2: the bar is on 2). For instance in a graph like
"[URL=http://img9.imageshack.us/my.php?image=azim.png[/URL]
How that [11-2] azimuthal direction means 90 degrees or [-12-1] shows 150 degrees or so the others? Or when they say "the particle is sent in the [B][1-10] azimuthal direction[/B]" what does this mean in terms of degrees? How can I learn about and understand this notation?

Thanks
Love&respect...

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
The graphic I'd sent is an azimuthal ICISS (impact collision ion scattering spectroscopy) scan of a fcc (111) lattice.
Help me please...

Anybody knows the answer?

These notations look like directions in the lattice -or maybe Miller indices - but usually Miller index notation is in round brackets, like (111) .
In any case they have nothing to do with azimuthal notation.
If they are directions, then [1,1,1] means the direction of a vector with components 1*a+1*b+1*c where a,b,c are the three unit vectors of the lattice.

I don't know what the angles on the x-axis mean, I am not familiar with this method.