B.A. or B.S. in Physics: Which is Better for Grad School in MS&E?

In summary: A B.A. would require you to have completed the course requirements outlined in assist.org, while a B.S. would not.
Rulesby
I'm an undergrad getting ready to transfer as a junior from a 2-year college to a 4-year college. My declared major is physics, but I want to go to grad school under an MS&E program. Should I go for a B.A. in physics? My reasoning is that it would allow me to take more chemistry and engineering electives.

What are benefits and the damages of each: B.A. Physics and B.S. Physics?

Physics news on Phys.org
Do you live in the US? If so, you can take whatever courses you want, it doesn't really matter what your major is (outside of very specific courses for very specific majors... which I've only ever heard of 1 class being that way).

Rulesby said:
What are benefits and the damages of each: B.A. Physics and B.S. Physics?

It depends on the specific courses required for the two degrees. There's no standardization, especially between different schools. If one school offers only a B.A. and the other offers only a B.S., it's impossible to conclude just from the names of the degrees which one is "better."

Harvard offers only a B.A. Who would turn up his nose at a B.A. in physics from Harvard? :smile:

Pengwuino said:
Do you live in the US? If so, you can take whatever courses you want, it doesn't really matter what your major is (outside of very specific courses for very specific majors... which I've only ever heard of 1 class being that way).