"Back door" into physics for a math major

insupliquitous
I have a BA in math. Took no physics courses. In the few years since I graduated I've self studied a lot of physics in my spare time and have a desire to pursue a formal education in it.

I understand it would be almost impossible for me to get into a masters in physics unless I went back and took a bunch of core physics undergrad courses as a non-degree student somewhere.

Is there a "backdoor" that allows me to leverage my math background to go into a masters where I might be able to combine math and physics? For example, is it possible for me to do a masters in applied math and somehow focus on mathematical physics? Are mathematical physics graduate courses actually commonly offered through math departments? Or would I be better off doing pure math in that case? Is there some sort of "applied physics" masters out there that might assume little background in physics?

Physics news on Phys.org
insupliquitous said:
I agree with the guy who said you should pick one field and focus on it as soon as you can if you want to go to grad school. The best grad schools are hyper-competitive and the sooner you can lock into a path and pursue it with relentless drive (get as much undergrad research experience as possible) the better. I see having spread myself too thin as a major mistake. Note that from what research I've done, tenure-track professorship positions in your (our) fields of interest are extremely competitive. You basically have to be willing to move anywhere in the country for one

You should listen to this guy's advice.

Likes berkeman and gleem
I'm not aware of any backdoors. I'm afraid.

I do recall some graduate students from the mathematics department taking graduate physics courses when I was a student, but this was in supplement to their math programs, and they would have needed permission from the instructors and to have taken the prerequisite courses at some point.