Biochemistry Undergrad to Bioengineering PHD

In summary, the speaker has a BS in Biochemistry and initially considered medical school but lost interest due to the MCAT. They are now interested in biomedical engineering and have done research in related fields, but are unsure if they will be accepted into a graduate program with a non-engineering background. They have a strong GPA and knowledge in relevant subjects, but do not want to take additional courses. However, they have been studying electronics and engineering on their own and have a strong interest in the field. The expert cautions that it may be difficult to convince graduate programs to accept them without an undergraduate engineering degree, but suggests exploring different programs that may consider their background for specific projects.
nzhu
Hey!
So I graduated with a BS in Biochemistry and I was originally considering medical school but after studying the horrible mcat for 3 years, I decided I had enough of that. Furthermore, I really lost interest in any aspect of patient work.
However what has always interested me since I was a kid was computers/engineering and my goal is still to cure diseases. I think biomedical engineering is the best path more me.

Only problem is, I'm not sure if grad schools would take me with a Biochemistry degree.
I have significant amounts of research during college and currently at NIH. But none of them are exactly engineering related they're all medical related. I did research in a sleep lab studying sleep apnea, then I researched in a neuroscience lab studying transcranial direct current stimulation, and then I researched in a lab modeling neurons with software, and finally I'm at NIH researching Rapamycin resistant cells and its application to the clinic.