Biot-Savart and a Rectangular Loop

In summary, the conversation discusses finding the magnetic force exerted by one wire carrying a current on another wire in a rectangular loop. The suggested method for solving the problem is using the Biot-Savart Law and Ampere's Law. The person asking the question is unsure of where to begin and the person providing the solution confirms the approach is correct.
mathguy831

Homework Statement

Consider the figure on the right. Wire 1 is oriented along the y-axis and carries a current I1. A rectangular loop located to the right of the wire in the xy-plane carries a current I2. Find the magnetic force exerted by wire 1 on the top wire of length b in the loop labeled, "Wire 2" in the figure.

2. Homework Equations

Biot-Savart Law

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm not sure where to begin. I've never worked with a problem like this before, only the basic problems.[/B]

Attachments

• 20141029_164024.jpg
    20141029_164024.jpg
    16.1 KB · Views: 690
Physics news on Phys.org
Remember dF = i dl x B ?
i = current
dl =differential length expressed as a vector.
For B try ampere's law. Forget Biot-Savart.

Okay, I tried this. Does it look right?

Attachments

• Untitled.png
    Untitled.png
    101.4 KB · Views: 733
mathguy831 said:
Okay, I tried this. Does it look right?
It's too late tonite for me to check it in detail but your approach is spot-on.

As a scientist, it is important to approach any problem with a clear and analytical mindset. In this case, the problem at hand involves the application of the Biot-Savart Law, which is a fundamental equation in electromagnetism that relates the magnetic field produced by a current-carrying wire to the current, distance, and orientation of the wire.