C++ Programmer Defined Factorial Function

In summary: But yes, recursion is not bad, it's just a different way of thinking about the problem. In fact, there are times where recursion is the most natural way to think about the problem, so it's almost a necessity.In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of recursion, using a recursive function in C++ to calculate factorial. The function calls itself until it reaches a base case, returning the resulting value to the previous instance of the function. Recursion can be less efficient than iteration, but it can also make code simpler and more elegant.
Saladsamurai
Hi

I am relatively new to C++ and I am having a little trouble understanding, in detail, the logic
of this recursive function.

Can someone tell me if my reasoning this out is correct?

Code:
int fact (int n)
{
	if (n==1)
	return 1;

else
	return (n*fact(n-1));

}
So if the user enters 1, it returns 1. But if the user enters 3... what happens here?

it returns 3*fact(2)
and then fact(2) returns 2*fact(1)
and fact (1)=1
so we have 3*2*1= 3!

okay...so I guess I do get it kind of.

But when it says "return (n*fact(n-1)" where exactly is it "returning" it?

It seems like it means "return it to the argument of the function".

Is that more or less correct? Especially what is in boldface...

Technology news on Phys.org
It's a http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Recursion#Recursion_in_computer_science". Not C++ specific thing.

I understood it by assuming that
"int fact (int n)" is not equal to "fact(n-1)" i.e. they are two different functions something like

int fact1 (int n)
{
return fact2(n-1);
}

int fact2 (int n)
{
return something;
}To function or method, there is no difference between calling itself or calling another function..I would say in that line it just calling itself and places the call on the stack.
In 3 case, it keeps on putting calls on the stack until you return 1:
func(1) = 1
func(2)
func(3)